Star Wars: The Old Republic

05/04/2013 19:58

Today I have chosen to write about the all new Star Wars MMORPG, known to its worldwide fan base as Star Wars The Old Republic. The games story line starts off with a surprise attack on the Galactic Republic star base guarding the sith home world (as known by fans Koriban), the cinematic video preview showed the first look of some of the in game character classes starting with the two Jedi classes as well as the Trooper class and the Smuggler class.

The preview shows the Smuggler being taken for questioning by the Jedi that were running the star base. In my opinion the video showed a little of what life is like in this sci-fi universe, I liked how the smuggler was portrayed as a cowboy in space approach, with some added humour within the first few moments.

As the video progressed I felt like I was watching one of the star wars films it was gripping. In the next few moments the two sith classes were introduced with an epic battle ending with the takeover of Koriban for the sith empire. There two other cinematic previews for this game which leads to where you’re in game character begins his or hers journey.

The game is now free-to-play allowing anyone to download the game. However, there are a few side effects. Firstly, when you visit a trader in game to buy new equipment for your character the vendor’s prices are higher than subscribers. You may be thinking that’s not so bad, and well you would be correct you can still get the same items in game if your FTP or a Sub.

Secondly, when you create your character FTP players will have a restriction to what spices you can play as. This dose affects a few things when playing in-game. Some spices have added bonuses for attacks and defences. FTP players might not be able to get a bonus that they might want to have.

Thirdly, while playing in game FTP players cannot customize as much of their character, when it comes down to outfits and other customizable kits. This is not a big deal and I don’t really mind at the moment about not having the ability.

I have only played the game for one day and within that time I have grown to love the storyline of my character who is a sith warrior. I am finding the game interesting with the options to choose your own path that will be different for each player. For example, when I played one of the levels I had to interrogate some prisoners I had to make the decision whether they lived or could be used latter for the sith empire. The choices I made meant that I had to continue to prove myself to my master which I later had to execute.

The game has so many options IU can’t really say my gaming experience will be the same as yours but that makes for one very interesting game. I hope to review this game again once I have completed a few more missions.

Thank You for reading!       

Contact

Audio Shack Were a UK based site. Twitter: @AudioShackOffic
Facebook: facebook.com/AudioShackMus
audioshack@live.com